Two for Tuesday

Hello!  I hope you have had a nice week so far and thank you very much for visiting my blog again.  As I said in one of my first posts, I am new to this whole blogging thing…so, please let me know if you have any tips or tricks or would like to see more or less of the type of things I post!

It was quite a rainy week here in Austin last week, which is very unlikely that it rains an entire week, but was good for the plants and grass AND gave me lots of indoor time to focus on crafts and things I enjoy! So, for this week, here’s my two for Tuesday:

  1. Personalized Hand Towels:  (This section is probably too technical if you’re not into embroidery!) I got back to working on my embroidery machine (Brother SE-400) and have been into trying out different textures.  Some work great and others, not so great, based on the types of stabilizer you use.  I have found that embroidery designs from”Designs by JuJu” tend to stitch out very well and she has quite a collection!  I used a design by juju for the monogram letter below and have found that I really use this pattern a lot as it can be combined with many different colors!

    I made these specific hand towels to match my parents kitchen, but I would be glad to customize a set for you!  Email me for colors of towels and thread, they are $10 a set.

  2. My “Go-To” Dinner:  Growing up, we never had chicken thighs…my mom, like a lot of people, thinks they are fatty and doesn’t like the dark meat.  However, I kept running across recipes that called for them and decided to give them a try…and ever since, they have been a staple in the dinner rotation!chickenandasaparagas  What you see pictured here is what we call “Chicken Thighs Dinner,” which is simply:Pre-heating the oven to 400.  Taking 1.5 lbs of boneless skinless chicken thighs (we find the organic ones have less fat), 1 tbsp of olive oil, 1 tsp of rosemary (fresh if possible), salt and pepper to taste and mixing all together in a bowl.  Place all ingredients on a foil lined cookie sheet.  Bake in the oven for 35 minutes and voila!  I usually add about 3 cups of brussel sprouts (halved) with olive oil, salt, and pepper on the other half of the baking sheet and cook it all for the same amount of time.  BUT, with Easter right around the corner, I thought I would try out a side we might use when we have our friends over…bacon wrapped asparagus.  I simply greased a baking dish and washed about 1 lb. of asparagus and cut off 1 inch at the end.  I bunched the pieces in 3’s and wrapped one piece of bacon around them, with the open ends facing down on the baking dish for 35 minutes on 400 in the oven.  My lesson learned was that I would flip them over halfway through so that both sides get crispy! Let me know if you get around to trying either of these recipes…Enjoy!
One thought on “Two for Tuesday

Leave a Reply

