Two for Tuesday

Hello Again! Whew! What a week it has been.  Here in Austin, the weather has been in the upper 70’s lower 80’s all week, so my husband and I took advantage of the unseasonably warm weather and spent a lot of time with Dewey (our wiemaraner) at the local trails.  The picture below was taken at the falls at Brushey Creek…just beautiful!

DewandJenna

That being said, I wasn’t very adventurous with my cooking this week, but I did come up with a few new crafts:

  1. Mason Jar Chandelier: As most of you know, my husband and I are in a short-term single family home rental for a few months until we find a house that we are ready to buy in the Austin area.  The house we are in is about 30 years old, which is quite a change from our 10 or so year old house we had in Fairfax.  On one hand, it has been good to understand how important it is to replace windows (the windows here are originals and lets just say that we aren’t looking forward to the heat seeping through the cracks in the hot summer) among other homeownership chores that need to be kept up on and has taught us what to look for in a new home!  That being said, I have tried to make this short-term rental a home as much as I can, while still keeping most of our boxes packed!  One of the things in this house that has bothered me since day 1 was the “chandelier” in the dining room.  It has three wires hanging down with lights on the end, so it can be customized to any decor.  As you can see in the picture below, the silver spaceship look did not go with our decor very well…so, for about $4 for large mason jars (I got them during the half-off week at Hobby Lobby…did I mention that I can walk there from my house…TROUBLE!), a hammer, and some nails, I took it into my own hands to update!  (I looked on Pinterest for different ideas for this look, but this the site I mostly followed if you want to make them for yourself: Charming Imperfections) Admittedly, hammering the nails one by one in the tops of the mason jar lids was a bit time consuming, but well worth the final look!Lights
  2. Personalized Burlap Bows: Like I mentioned above, I am trying to make our little short-term rental feel like home.  I made some burlap bows for my wedding that I could not part with for some reason when we were packing and wanted to find a use for them.  Since we have settled in quite a bit since our big move and I have been able to get to know my embroidery machine better, I am in the phase of “I can monogram everything”..and driving my husband crazy!  However, the burlap bows are near and dear to my heart, so I wanted to do something that was meaningful to my husband and I to always remember our special day.  I embroidered a “D” for our last name and have found tons of uses for them!

    Since I made these, I have had plenty of friends around here ask how they could get their hands on one or two for their homes.  I am selling them in all different colors of burlap (plain, chevron styles, etc.) with one letter for $10 each.  Please email me at danburysnest@gmail.com if you are interested and would like more information.

    That’s all for now, folks!  Thanks for reading and I hope you have a very enjoyable week!

Leave a Reply

